bipoc books

discover books by bipoc authors

The Silence of Bones

The Silence of Bones

June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody YA historical mystery tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak;
Ears, but I mustn’t hear;
Eyes, but I mustn’t see.

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.”

Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

Book Details

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publish Date: April 21, 2020
ISBN: 9781250229557
Language: English

About the Author

June Hur (허주은) is the critically acclaimed bestselling author of YA historical mysteries The Silence of Bones, The Forest of Stolen Girls, The Red Palace, and A Crane Among Wolves. In addition to being nominated three times for the Edgar Awards, she’s been featured on Forbes, NPR, The New York Times, CBC and KBS. Her novels have been translated now into Korean, French, Italian, Russian and German. Born in South Korea and raised in Canada, she studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto, and worked at the Toronto Public Library. She currently lives in Toronto with her husband and two young children.

Browse More Books