bipoc books

discover books by bipoc authors

The Red Palace

The Red Palace

June Hur, critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones and The Forest of Stolen Girls, returns with The Red Palace―a third evocative, atmospheric historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco.

To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood…

Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, eighteen-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace nurse. All she wants is to keep her head down, do a good job, and perhaps finally win her estranged father’s approval.

But Hyeon is suddenly thrust into the dark and dangerous world of court politics when someone murders four women in a single night, and the prime suspect is Hyeon’s closest friend and mentor. Determined to prove her beloved teacher’s innocence, Hyeon launches her own secret investigation.

In her hunt for the truth, she encounters Eojin, a young police inspector also searching for the killer. When evidence begins to point to the Crown Prince himself as the murderer, Hyeon and Eojin must work together to search the darkest corners of the palace to uncover the deadly secrets behind the bloodshed.

Book Details

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publish Date: January 25, 2022
ISBN: 9781250800558
Language: English

About the Author

June Hur (허주은) is the critically acclaimed bestselling author of YA historical mysteries The Silence of Bones, The Forest of Stolen Girls, The Red Palace, and A Crane Among Wolves. In addition to being nominated three times for the Edgar Awards, she’s been featured on Forbes, NPR, The New York Times, CBC and KBS. Her novels have been translated now into Korean, French, Italian, Russian and German. Born in South Korea and raised in Canada, she studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto, and worked at the Toronto Public Library. She currently lives in Toronto with her husband and two young children.

Browse More Books